UCSD Alumni


Alumni Celebration 2016


The 2016 UC San Diego Alumni Celebration will mark the 38th year the university has recognized the accomplishments of outstanding alumni and university friends.

We’re looking for alumni who have brought honor and distinction to UC San Diego through their leadership, professional accomplishments or personal achievements. We invite you to consider nominating alumni for the following award categories:

Distinguished Alumnus/a
Awarded to an alumna or alumnus of an undergraduate or graduate program of UC San Diego, who has rendered special or outstanding service, or, through personal achievement, has brought honor and distinction to the University.

Emerging Leader
Presented to an alumna or alumnus who has made a significant impact on their profession and/or community-at-large since graduation. The nominee must be 35 years of age or younger at the time the award is presented.

The Awards Selection Committee, made up of elected members of the governing board of UCSD Alumni, reviews each candidate nomination and selects those persons whose achievements most closely fit the category for which they have been nominated.

Deadline: October 26, 2015

 To download nominations materials including a complete list of previous awardees, click here.

UC San Diego Alumni Celebration 2016

June 4, 2016

The Alumni Celebration will be held during the eighth annual Alumni Weekend. Net proceeds from the evening event will benefit UC San Diego student scholarships.

If you have any questions, please contact Eliza Wiggins at ecwiggins@ucsd.edu.

2015 Award Recipients

Distinguished Alumni

Mike Judge, '85 Physics
Mike Judge is an award-winning creator and producer of today’s most popular movies and television series including King of the Hill, Beavis and Butt-head, Office Space, Idiocracy and Extract. The physicist turned animator, filmmaker and actor is now working on his latest television series, Silicon Valley, now filming its second season for HBO. Learn more

Cindy Marten, M.A. ’95, Education Studies
Cindy Marten has shown a tremendous commitment to making a real impact in the San Diego educational community. She has served as an educator for 25 years—as a teacher, an instructional leader and a school principal. In July 2013, Cindy was appointed superintendent of the San Diego Unified School District, the second largest school district in the state of California. Learn more

Ken Kroner, Ph.D. ’88, Economics
Ken Kroner is a global finance innovator, who serves as  chief investment officer of Scientific Active Equity and global head of Multi-Asset Strategies at BlackRock, the world’s largest asset manager. In 2011, he and his wife Jennifer created the Kroner Family Endowed Fellowship with a gift to the Division of Social Sciences, allowing stellar students the opportunity to pursue research interests at UC San Diego. Ken serves on the UC San Diego Foundation Board of Trustees and the Economics Leadership Council and has been a long-time supporter of many campus programs and initiatives. Learn more

Emerging Leaders

Philip Wang, ’06, Wesley Chan, ’06, and Ted Fu, ’06, Visual Arts
Together, Philip Wang, Wesley Chan and Ted Fu run Wong Fu Productions, a growing independent production company. Their well-known YouTube channel has more than 1 million subscribers and has garnered over 200 million views of short films, music videos and video blogs for its large and loyal fan base. Their creative work has been recognized for its striking quality and emotional depth, earning honors and praise from organizations like CNN, NPR, the Cannes Film Festival, and the Sundance Film Festival. Learn more

Pierre Sleiman, M.B.A. ’13, Rady School of Management
Pierre Sleiman is the founder and CEO of Go Green Agriculture, an innovative company that grows produce inside climate-controlled greenhouses using hydroponics. His company has more than 400 customers including Whole Foods, Sprouts, Jimbo's Naturally and Hyatt Hotels. In July 2014, Pierre was honored as an Agriculture Champion of Change at the White House alongside other notable leaders who are doing extraordinarent to education and pursuit of equal rights. Learn more

*The Awards Selection Committee reserves the right to determine the number of honorees awarded in each category.
Geico Footer Ad